Tags

, , , ,

The life of a chocolate labrador is an eventful one. There I was on Monday evening having a lovely snooze when I was woken up with the news that I was off on a road-trip. This was a bit odd, not least because it was nearly 9.30pm and hudad wasn’t even around. I needn’t have worried though as we did a quick detour to pick him up from work.

90 minutes later we arrived in the Clotswolds (well that’s what I call them). Bourton-on-the-Water to be precise. In fact, to be completely accurate it was a cottage called Stepping Stones which is managed by the CSMA (or Civil Service Motoring Association). You can check out details here.

’tis the cottage just over the bridge

Even better was the fact that hunan and hugrandad were there. It turned out the humans were gatecrashing their holiday for a couple of nights. Charming!

The late arrival the night before called for “lions” on the Tuesday morning. I promise I did lie about until I could take my rumbling tummy no more and nudged the humans into action.

We decided to make the most of the weather and took a trip out to Batsford Arboretum. From 1916 to 1919 the estate was owned by the second Lord Redesdale, who was the father of the famous Mitford sisters. Apparently Nancy Mitford based the early part of her novel “Love in a cold climate” on their time at Batsford. The arboretum also holds the national collection of Japanese Flowering Cherries.

Stop posing and hurry up

A bridge too far

Please can I play with the duck?

I’ve no i-deer what they are!

Nice colours

Wonder what type of funghi these are?

The house

After all the excitement it was back to the cottage via Stow-on-the-Wold where i managed to snaffle a few bits of a treacle flapjack.

The following morning after a lovely stroll by the River Windrush for my morning constitutional, the humans visited the Cotswold Motoring Museum, which is also owned by the CSMA and located right nextdoor (note, if you stay at the cottages you get free entry as many times as you like during your stay). Unfortunately dogs aren’t allowed in, but I was more than happy snoozing back at the cottage.

Why does she always take pictures of my butt??

Enough with the “artsy” shots

This looks like a car for a discerning labrador

One from 1972

What’s Sophia Loren doing in that car?

All too soon it was time to head home. I’m told that the short stay was hudad’s fault, something about work. Oh well, never mind I’m off to Somerset in November for a week … don’t tell her I said anything but hunan will be 70 so we are going away to celebrate.

