Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Recently my very good furiend Cassie (aka @mrsdog) told me that Monster Pet Supplies – www.monsterpetsupplies.co.uk – were looking for dogs (and a labrador in particular) to review some products for them. Apparently some of the products in question were noms! Pawfect. Where do I sign?

Having “done the business”, I was extremely excited when a rather large box showed up on the doorstep.

That’s a mahoosive box!!

What do we have in here then???

Coolio.

Now in my box there was …

A rather large 12kg pack of Royal Canin Labrador Retriever Dog Food – http://www.monsterpetsupplies.co.uk/p-7408-royal-canin-labrador-retriever-30-adult-dog.aspx

Big bag of noms!

Four packs of Bakers’ Sizzlers Bacon Treats – http://www.monsterpetsupplies.co.uk/p-17357-bakers-sizzler-bacon-treats-6-x-120g.aspx

Smaller bag of noms!

And a Doggee Bag Holder Keychain – http://www.monsterpetsupplies.co.uk/p-20863-doggee-bag-holder-keychain.aspx

Think this one might be more for the humans

There was also a letter addressed to me explaining my mission. I’m not quite sure what the humans had told Monster Pet Supplies because they said that they needed a “clever canine with discerning tastes”. Errrrrrrr. They do know I’m a Labrador don’t they? Us Labradors are not known for our discerning tastes, rather we have a “nom anything in sight” philosophy. But I’m not going to argue.

Onwards to the reviewing.

Royal Canin Labador Retriever

I will do my in depth review about the Royal Canin at a later date. The humans want to properly test the claim that the design of the pieces improves dental hygiene and slows down the rate of food intake and that means speed tests over more than 1 or 2 days. They also want to see if there is any discernible difference to my mobility and coat. Particularly given that this food is considerably more expensive than what I normally eat. So for now you will have to make do with a shorter first impressions review.

The humans say that the smell coming from the open bag has a distinct aroma, not unlike the smell from the early stages of making whisky – sort of yeasty. Although each kibble piece doesn’t have that same smell. Shame really, I quite like whisky (although in my humble opinion beer is better, I’m particularly partial to a drop of Bad King John).

The kibble pieces have an entirely different design from every other complete food I’ve been fed; they are cylindrical with a hole running down the middle. This is the patented design thingy. It does make a change from square or round.

I’m now a few days into the new food and the humans did a straight 100% swap without any issues. Of course this could be because I have a cast-iron stomach. No issues with me eating it either – bowl goes down and a short time later the bowl is empty. Now I’m not a fussy eater, but for me it’s a case of so far, so nommy.

Well that’s it for now, so far it gets a 8 out of 10 on the Millie-O-Meter scale where 0 equates to a lettuce leaf and 10 to steak.

I’ll be reporting again at a later date on this product so watch this space.

Bakers Sizzlers

Right, first of the information section. According to the packaging, the treats are low in fat, contain omega 3 & 6 fatty acids, vitamins & antioxidants. The treats look like rashers of streaky bacon, albeit slightly more luridly coloured (although colourants aren’t listed in the ingredient information per se, the Monster Pet Supplies website does refer to EC permitted colourants). They also actually smell of bacon, which is an added bonus. They are sold by weight, but you get 8 – 10 “treats” per pack, depending upon their size.

Now for the taste test. I must confess that being a Labrador I don’t often turn down noms of any description, but these are good. They are slightly chewy, but nothing to hold up a treat-nomming Labrador for too long – in my case about 5 seconds. Would definitely have seconds and even thirds if the humans would let me. But no, they are mean.

I would rate them a solid 7 on the Millie-O-Meter.

Would I have them again, most definitely. A dog can never have too many treats and variety is the spice of life.

Doggee Bag Holder

As this one is more for the humans, I have to rely on what they tell me. Up to now my humans have just stuffed the poop bags in their pockets. Over the years practically every coat pocket and rucksack pocket has been stuffed with some and of course this can prove an interesting conversation piece on those rare occasions when I let them out alone.

The holder takes up to 15 poop bags, depending upon their size and you don’t have to worry too much about how you stuff it. The handy spring lever keychain means it can be attached either to the humans or me quickly – guess which option I prefer!

Now reviewing a product like this is a bit tricky, but in simplistic terms it does exactly what is says on the tin so. The humans would rate it a 4 out of 5 and think that it’s very nice to have the bags contained in one place!

