Tags

I’ve often wondered why humans give us the names that they do. I mean, how did I end up being Millie? It’s probably not the most obvious name for a chocolate labrador. My mother was called Cadbury and I know of several Cocoas. These seem ar more appropriate. Asking the humans doesn’t elicit much in the way of a helpful reply. The only reasons they gave were that they liked the name and I looked like a Millie. What on earth does a Millie look like then?

In fact, why am I Millie and not Milly? Is there something special about the “ie” ending other than to cause confusion amongst various relatives about how to spell my name on the Christmas cards?

According to reports, the current most popular names for dogs are:

  1. Poppy
  2. Alfie
  3. Molly
  4. Charlie
  5. Max
  6. Bella
  7. Ruby
  8. Millie
  9. Daisy
  10. Rosie

Obviously I’m pleased to see that Millie makes the top 10, but I can’t believe that it’s not number 1.

Mind you, it could be worse. according to Veterinary Pet Insurance (a US company), there are some very peculiar names given to dogs. Apparently VPI employees selected 50 unusual names from the company’s database of more than 485,000 insured pets and narrowed them down by voting for what they considered were the wackiest. And *drum roll pleas* the winners are:

  1. Almost-a-Dog
  2. Franco Furter
  3. Stinkie Mcstinkerson
  4. Sir Seamus Mcpoop
  5. Audrey Shepburn
  6. Dewey Decimell
  7. Knuckles Capone
  8. Beagle Lugosi
  9. Shooter Mclovin
  10. Uzi Duzi-Du

On reflection, this dog is mighty relieved at being called Millie.

So what are the stories behind your names? Can you top the wacky list?
